Ink at Aarhus Main Library


Tilfældigvis er Skærmen blevet Blæk’ (‘Accidentally, the Screen Turns to Ink’) is an interactive, participatory literary installation made in a collaboration between DARC/PIT-researchers, CAVI/Tekne Productions and Roskilde Libraries during the Literature Takes Place project. Ink is designed to make people affectively engage with, and reflect on, the ergodic qualities of digital literature in public settings such as libraries and events. Through their engagement with Ink, people can – individually or collaboratively – produce poems by interacting with three books embedded with a custom-made sensor system, the DUL Radio. The interactive books let people control a floating sentence in an ocean of words toward a sheet of paper to produce a poem, all visualized on a large (55”) display. The sentences, written by Danish author Peter-Clement Woetmann, are retrieved from a database. When the poem reaches a limit of 350 characters, it is printed out in a form similar to a library receipt that people can take with them. The poems also appear on a blog updated in real-time ( where people can read their own and others’ poems, and comment on them.

Ink has been exhibited at the library in Roskilde, at conferences and seminars and at Roskilde Festival, where it produced more than 1000 poems. It is currently exhibited at Aarhus Main Library until mid June, where it will be exhibited at the Next Library conference. Ink has so far been presented at conferences in Bergen and Edinburgh.

For a scenario video see here: and a video from Roskilde Festival can be seen here:

Ink (Tilfældigvis er skærmen blevet blæk/ Accidentally, the Screen Turns to Ink) is created within the project Litterature Takes Place (Litteraturen finder sted) by Roskilde Bibliotekerne and Participatory Information Technology Center, Digital Urban Living, CAVI, Aarhus University.

Design & concept development: Jonas Fritsch, Lasse Steenbock Vestergaard, Søren Pold, Martin Campostrini, Allan Thomsen Volhøj, Ann Luther Petersen

3D programming: Jonas Oxenbøll Petersen, Janus Bager Kristensen, Rolf Bagge

Sound design: Rune Wehner

Author: Peter-Clement Woetman




This entry was posted in English, News and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply